didordied


Great Reviews Are Hard To Find by moopiechops

I never really watched Siskel and Ebert much, and I believe its now Ebert and Roeper or Roper and Roberts, or something like that. I always thought that the reviews were a bit washed out and pretty soft. However I did run into a site of Ebert quotes from some of his reviews. I was impressed, there are some funny ones here.

I’ll give you a taste of what peacefire.org is all about. For Example:

“According to the press kit, Straight to Hell was “filmed in three weeks on a shoestring budget of $1 million,” but looks more as if it were filmed in one week on Cox’s MasterCard.”

“John Waters’ Pink Flamingos has been restored for its 25th anniversary revival, and with any luck at all that means I won’t have to see it again for another 25 years. If I haven’t retired by then, I will.”
The site goes on to explain: (Note: This movie is listed in the Ebert database as having a “zero stars” rating, but Ebert explains at the end of the review: “I am not giving a star rating to “Pink Flamingos”, because stars simply seem not to apply. It should be considered not as a film but as a fact, or perhaps as an object.”)

“Going to see Godzilla at the Palais of the Cannes Film Festival is like attending a satanic ritual in St. Peter’s Basilica.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

