didordied


All Bow to the Bowery by vinceklortho

Two Fridays ago, I took a date to the Bowery in Hollywood.  This place is arguably my favorite spot to eat, drink, and be merry.

I arrived at 8 p.m. and only had to wait about 8 minutes for a table.  Ladies, most of the tables are high with accompanying high stools, so wear pants unless you want to Britney the place up.  The real plus of the tables if you are there with a date is that their small size (the tables that is) require you to sit close.

Here’s why I really like the place.  Where else will you find a menu with both Pabst and a charcuterie plate.  It’s like a combo dive bar and bistro.  Plus, they play awesome music, mainly ’80’s-present day alternative.

I ordered the pan-roasted chicken with sweet potato puree, green beans, bacon, and cider reduction.  It was delicious.  I’m not a big bacon guy, but it tasted like extra crispy chicken skin.  The sweet potato puree was the best part.  My date ordered the pan-roasted salmon with sauteed spinach and mustard beurre blanc.  She said she loved it.  I, myself, find cooked salmon to be disgusting.  To each her own.

I really don’t have a bad thing to say about this place except that the valet is pricey.  It’s a great stop before or after hitting the nearby Arclight, Hotel Cafe, or Amoeba Music.  In fact, I love the place so much that I told my best friend that I had no idea why I had never taken him there.  He replied, “because you’re not trying to fuck me.”  Set and match!

So, hit the Bowery for any drink you want, tasty (but expensive-at least $15 per person) food, and really yummy looking girls if you’re single.

The Bowery…I did it…and you should too!

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

