didordied


Free Southern Chicken Sandwich at Crackdonald’s by vinceklortho

Today was free Southern Chicken Sandwich day at McDonald’s.  Although I had no idea what the quality of the sandwich would be like, the price was right for me (I look forward to more comments from readers about what a cheap asshole I am).  So, I hit the Crackdonald’s in Downtown, Los Angeles for a little lunch.

The sandwich looks like this:

It’s basically a filet-o-fish without the fish, cheese, and sauce, oh, and with pickly things.  Helpful, right?  What I mean is that the sandwich is little more than the same bun, a breaded chicken breast, and three items that McDonald’s represents are pickles.  I gotta’ say, there are few things more simple and tasty than that McDonald’s bun.  As you sink your teeth in, you can taste the fact that there is nothing nutritiously redeeming about it.  The chicken was pretty tasty too.  It was all white meat, unlike the old school mcnuggets from when I was a kid that clearly were made from alternative protein sources.  My brother and I used to break them open before eating them because there were always two types.  There were the ones that were white inside that tasted closest to chicken.  Then there were the ones that were a different texture and sort of brownish.  We never ate those.  You should probably consult your doctor if you did.

Back to the sandmich . . . it wasn’t greasy at all, which surprised me.  I could have done without the pickles.  They were pretty soft and gross.  But if you like the ones on the other Mckie D burgers, then you’ll be fine with these because I’m pretty certain that they are the same.

All in all, I enjoyed the sandwich and would eat it again, but not for the almost $3 they charge on days that it is not free.  It belongs on the dollar menu.  And it needs a little more kick, perhaps from a sauce.  Unless the word “Southern” in the sandwich’s title means bland and boring, the sandwich needs some spice.  But in a pinch, you’re going to be okay with this one.

The Southern Chicken Sandwich at McDonald’s . . . I did it . . . and you should have too when it was free!

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

